Adeyemi David .O
3 min readMay 5, 2021

Waje: Chin-Chin Loving Queen of the Studio

Oh I wish oh I wish oh I wish

That I didn’t have a heart a heart

Say na only stone fill deep inside

I didn’t have a heart didn’t have a heart

- I Wish [2013]

One of the most amazing vocalists I’ve ever met. Yes, met, duur. Cool, calm, charming and sound. The melodious vocals that bring life to a lot of tracks.

In what would be one of the most eye opening sessions I have ever had, Waje talked about how she would have been a ‘passionate chin chin seller’ if she wasn’t doing music. Chin chin seller? A passionate one at that. Don’t take life too seriously, because even the most serious persons have their play play moments, Waje proved this to me in 2017.

The singer and songwriter enjoyed a successful career since she stepped into the limelight in 2008 with a feature on P-Square’s ‘Do Me’ which was a major hit across Africa. She also featured in songs like Banky W’s ‘Thief My Kele’ and M.I’s ‘One Naira’. Her wonderful voice on these tracks remains evergreen and refreshing.

In 2013, Waje released a self titled debut album, W.A.J.E (Words Aren’t Just Enough) with tracks like Grind featuring Burna Boy, I wish, Black and White featuring Phyno and Eva, Oko mi and Onye featuring Tiwa Savage.

A year later, she made her movie debut in “Tunnel” directed by Stanlee Ohikhuare, alongside Femi Jacobs, Patrick Doyle, Nse Ikpe-Etim and Lepacious Bose.

In August 2015, Waje was featured on ‘Strong Girl’ - the theme song for One’s Poverty is Sexist campaign, and also joined Bono for the Lagos campaign in 2015. In 2016, Waje was announced as one of the judges on The Voice Nigeria, alongside 2baba, Timi Dakolo and Patoranking where she was the winning coach of the maiden edition.

Her second studio album, Red Velvet was released in 2018 having only two features with Johnny Drille and Adekunle Gold. This album followed with a sincere attempt to quit professional music in March 2019 because of the ‘lack of support towards her music’.

Waje recently released a third studio project, a five track EP titled Heart Season with no features.

This musical queen and star performer doesn’t get enough credits for her contributions in the industry. Do you think so too?